CITIZENS FOR BETTER JUDGES

Press Release April 17, 2018

Citizens for Better Judges (CBJ) announced its endorsement today in the contested race for **Jefferson Circuit Court, Division Two**, which is on the ballot in the upcoming General Election. After a lengthy and rigorous evaluation of each candidate's qualifications for election to the circuit court bench in light of the high standards and demanding criteria established for endorsement by Citizens for Better Judges, CBJ endorsed **Hon. Darryl S. Lavery** as the most qualified to serve in this position.

CBJ was organized in January, 1983, in an effort to maintain and improve the quality of the judiciary by promoting the election of only the most highly qualified judicial candidates. It consists of a 30-member Steering Committee made up of lawyers who are all involved in litigation practice but concentrate in different fields of law, and a Citizens Review Board consisting of a cross-section of community-minded citizens with diverse occupations and backgrounds. Additionally, the organization has an Advisory Board made up of the past chairs of CBI.

Each candidate for judicial office is personally interviewed by the Steering Committee. After the interviews have been completed, the Steering Committee members consider the information obtained during the interviews and share their personal knowledge of the candidates. Lay members of the Citizens Review Board are present to monitor the interviews and the integrity of the endorsement process. The Citizens Review Board must approve the endorsements recommended by the Steering Committee.

CBJ Officers for 2018 are:

John R. Reed, Chair Margaret E. Keane, Vice-Chair Dennis D. Murrell, Secretary/Treasurer

Rev. Joseph T. Graffis, Curtis L. Barrett, Ph.D. and Reginald A. Bruce, Ph.D., serve as Co-Chairs of the Citizens Review Board.

The members of the **Attorney Steering Committee** are:

Steven M. Crawford Robert M. Croft, Jr. Daniel T. Goyette Douglas Haynes Don H. Major Susan D. Phillips Rebecca F. Schupbach Neva-Marie Polley Scott Lee E. Sitlinger, Jr.

Mark W. Dobbins
Darryl W. Durham
Margaret E. Keane (Vice-Chair)
M. Janice Lintner
Beth H. McMasters
John S. Reed (Chair)
Steven C. Schroering
Bobby C. Simpson
Thomas B. Wine

Jennifer Kincaid Adams
John W. Bilby
Matthew W. Breetz
J. Matthew Carey
Bradley A. Case
Michelle L. Duncan
James P. Grohman
Byron E. Leet
Dennis D. Murrell (Sec./Treas.)
B. Todd Thompson

As previously noted, the members of the Citizens Review Board consist of a cross-section of community leaders from professional and service organizations, as well as from the fields of business, labor, government and education.

The members of the Citizens Review Board are:

J. Stephen Barger Kentucky State District Council of Carpenters

Curtis L. Barrett, Ph.D. Clinical and Forensic Psychologist

Phillip C. Bills, AICP Former Director Louisville Metro Planning & Design Services

Reginald A. Bruce, Ph.D. College of Business University of Louisville

Eric Y. Drogin, J.D., Ph.D. Forensic Psychologist

Linda S. Ewald, J.D., L.L.M. Professor Emeritus Brandeis School of Law University of Louisville

Rev. Joseph T. Graffis Senior Priest Archdiocese of Louisville

John R. "Jack" Guthrie Guthrie Mayes & Associates, Inc

Brenda G. Hart, Director of Student Affairs (Ret.) Speed School of Engineering University of Lousiville

Albert "Cap" Hoskins, M.D. Baptist Health Medical Group

Dan R. Ison Governmental Affairs Consultant

The Rev. Helen H. Jones, D.Min. St. Matthews Episcopal Church

Judy Lambeth, President and CEO Maryhurst

Jennifer Mackin, President and CEO The Oliver Group

Charles R. Marra, President C.C.M. Development Co., Inc.

Michael B. Mountjoy, CPA Mountjoy Chilton Medley

George W. Rapp, Jr. Business Consultant

Will W. Ward, M.D. Norton Community Medical Associates John P. Walsh Consultant

Raymond J. Weis Dismas Charities, Inc

The Past Chairs of CBJ who make up the **Advisory Board** are:

John W. Bilby

Melissa Norman Bork

J. Michael Brown

Charles J. Cronan, IV

Mark W. Dobbins

Frank P. Dohney, Jr.

Darryl W. Durham

Larry B. Franklin (d.)

Daniel T. Goyette

Douglas Haynes

K. Gregory Haynes

Bradley R. Hume

Janet P. Jakubowicz

Don H. Major

John R. McCall

Winston E. Miller

Ann B. Oldfather

Homer Parrent, III

Tiomer ranem, in

Susan D. Phillips

Rebecca F. Schupbach

Lee E. Sitlinger, Jr.

Robert E. Stopher

Kenneth J. Tuggle

Joseph L. White

For further information, please visit CBJ's Web site (<u>www.citizensforbetterjudges.org</u>), or contact:

John S. Reed

Reed Weitkamp Schell & Vice PLLC

500 West Jefferson Street, Suite 2400

Louisville, KY 40202

jreed@rwsvlaw.com

Direct dial 1.502.657.1313

Mobile 1.502.548.4973