CITIZENS FOR BETTER JUDGES

Press Release September 25, 2008

Citizens for Better Judges (CBJ) announced its endorsements today in the contested judicial elections for the Jefferson District Court (Divisions 2, 8 and 16); the Jefferson Circuit Court (Division 4); and the Supreme Court of Kentucky (4th Judicial District).

CBJ was organized in January, 1983, in an effort to maintain and improve the quality of the judiciary by promoting the election of only the most highly qualified judicial candidates. It consists of a 30-member Steering Committee made up of lawyers who are all involved in litigation practice but concentrate in different fields of law, and a Citizens Review Board consisting of a cross-section of community-minded citizens with diverse occupations and backgrounds. Additionally, the organization has an Advisory Board made up of the past chairs of CBJ.

Each candidate for judicial office is personally interviewed by the Steering Committee. After the interviews have been completed, the Steering Committee members consider the information obtained during the interviews and share their personal knowledge of the candidates. Lay members of the Citizens Review Board are present to monitor the interviews and the integrity of the endorsement process. The Citizens Review Board must approve the endorsements recommended by the Steering Committee.

The endorsement process for the upcoming general election was completed yesterday, September 24th, and involved consideration of two candidates for the Jefferson District Court (Div. 2); four candidates for the Jefferson District Court (Div. 8); two candidates for the Jefferson District Court (Div. 16); two candidates for the Jefferson Circuit Court (Div. 4); and two candidates for the Supreme Court of Kentucky. After a lengthy and rigorous evaluation of each candidate's qualifications for election to the bench, CBJ made the following endorsements:

Jefferson District Court, Division 2 – Ann Bailey Smith

Jefferson District Court, Division 8 – David P. Bowles

Jefferson District Court, Division 16 – Judge David L. Holton

Jefferson Circuit Court, Division 4 – Judge Charlie Cunningham

Supreme Court of Kentucky (4th Judicial District) – Justice Lisabeth Hughes Abramson

All of these candidates meet the high standards and demanding criteria established for endorsement by Citizens for Better Judges and, as a result, they are recommended to the electorate as the most qualified in their respective judicial races.

CBJ Officers for 2008 are:

Susan D. Phillips, Chair Homer Parrent, III, Vice-Chair Darryl W. Durham, Secretary/Treasurer

Reginald A. Bruce, Ph.D. and Curtis L. Barrett, Ph.D. serve as Co-Chairs of the Citizens Review Board.

The members of the Attorney Steering Committee are:

Jennifer Kincaid Adams Bradley R. Hume Douglas C. Ballantine Ann Toni Kereiakes John H. Bilby Byron E. Leet Melissa Norman Bork Don H. Major Matthew W. Breetz Frank Mascagni, III Bradley A. Case Homer Parrent, III Paul A. Casi, II Susan D. Phllips Mark W. Dobbins Patrick J. Renn Darryl W. Durham Peter L. Schuler Angela Logan Edwards Rebecca F. Schupbach Irvin D. Foley William E. Sharp Larry B. Franklin Larry D. Simon Ann-Elizabeth Georgehead James U. Smith, III James P. Grohman Robert E. Stopher

As previously noted, the members of the Citizens Review Board consist of a cross-section of community leaders from professional and service organizations, as well as from the fields of business, labor, government and education.

The members of the Citizens Review Board are:

Kenneth S. Handmaker

J. Stephen Barger	Marvin J. Fisher
Kentucky District Council of Carpenters	BB&T Bank (Retired V.P.)

Curtis L. Barrett, Ph.D.	Rev. Helen H. Jones, D.Min.
Clinical and Forensic Psychologist	St. Matthews Episcopal Church

Reginald A. Bruce, Ph.D.	Baylor Landrum, Jr.
College of Business & Public Administration	Insurance Broker (Retired)
University of Louisville	

	Dan R. Ison
Rabbi Chester Diamond	Governmental Affairs Consultant
The Temple	

	Prof. Barbara B. Lewis
Eric Y. Drogin, J.D., Ph.D.	Brandeis School of Law (Retired)

Forensic Psychologist

Rev. Joseph T. Graffits, Pastor St. Edward's Catholic Church

David A. Graves President & CEO

Brooklawn Youth Services

John R. "Jack" Guthrie

Guthrie Mayes & Associates, Inc.

Raymond J. Weis Dismiss Charities, Inc.

Phillip L. Marshall Hospice & Palliative Care of Louisville Charles R. Marra, President C.C.M. Development Co., Inc.

George W. Rapp, Jr. Business Consultant

Hon. Benjamin F. Shobe Judge (Retired)

Will W. Ward, M.D. Community Medical Associates

Michael B. Mountjoy, CPA Mountjoy & Bressler, LLP

John P. Walsh, CEO The Morton Center

The Past Chairs of CBJ who make up the Advisory Board are:

John W. Bilby J. Michael Brown Charles J. Cronan, IV Frank P. Dohney, Jr. Larry B. Franklin Daniel T. Goyette K. Gregory Haynes Bradley R. Hume Janet P. Jakubowicz Don H. Major John R. McCall Winston E. Miller Ann B. Oldfather Rebecca F. Schupbach Lee E. Sitlinger, Jr. Robert E. Stopher Kenneth J. Tuggle

Joseph L. White

For further information, please visit CBJ's Web site (<u>www.citizensforbetterjudges.org</u>), or contact:

Susan D. Phillips – (502) 583-9900